Orthodox Saint Titles

orthodox saint titles

Orthodox saint titles are given to Orthodox saints to help distinguish them from others by name. The titles of these saints can point to an important aspect of the saint’s life. For example, St. Gregory the Theologian is often known as St. Gregory of Nazianzus, which is derived from his hometown and father’s name. He is considered an important thinker of the Church for his homilies and writings about the Holy Spirit.

St. Gregory the Theologian

The most revered titles among saints are conferred upon the greatest of them. Of the three great saints who have received the title of ‘theologian’, St Gregory the Theologian is the greatest, followed by St John the Evangelist. No other saint has received this title since the eleventh century.

Gregory’s parents were of noble origin and were both religious. His pagan father was a member of the Hypsistarii sect, a combination of Jewish and heathen error. His Christian mother, Nonna, had a strong Christian faith, and she was raised in fear of God. In spite of her religious background, she married a Jewish man who rejected the Orthodox faith.

St. Philotheos

St. Philotheos was a monk who converted from Judaism and entered the monastic life at Mount Sinai and the Great Lavra on Mount Athos. His support for the Orthodox Church led him to compose the Hagiorite Tome, a hymn to the Saints who partake in the Divine Light.

He was the first Bishop of Athens, and was ordained by the Holy Apostle Paul. His friend and teacher after Paul, St Hierotheos was also present at the Dormition of the Theotokos.

St. Demetrius

Saint Demetrius was the Metropolitan of Rostov and was born in Makarovo, near Kiev. He was raised by a pious family and studied Greek and Latin languages. He later entered a monastery where he became a monk and accepted his title. He was named after the Great Martyr Demetrius of Thessaonia.

The name “Demetrios” is linked with the name of Christ, so it is natural that the two were grouped together in Christianity. Together they fought against tyranny and suffered martyrdom.

St. Procla

The canonization of saints began in 993 AD, when Pope John IV canonized the first. After this first Saint, Pope Alexander III argued that the right to canonize a Saint belongs to the Holy See alone. Since that time, many great saints have been recognized by the Orthodox Church.

Her role in the Christian faith is not fully understood, but she was the wife of Pontius Pilate and appears only once in the Gospel of Matthew. She intercedes with Pilate on Jesus’ behalf. Eventually, she takes on the names Procla or Procula and is venerated as an orthodox saint by many churches. Her story has been adapted in literature and film.

St. Luke

According to Christian tradition, St. Luke was one of the Seventy Apostles sent by Christ. His gospel is based on the testimony of eyewitnesses. As a result, his work is sometimes called “a historical work.” There are varying interpretations of this claim.

The Gospel of Luke was written by Luke, a Greek from Antioch, Syria. He was educated and trained as a physician. He also became one of the Church’s first iconographers. In addition, he was the author of one of the four Gospels. Many mistakenly believe that he was a member of Jesus’ inner circle.

St. Cleopas

Cleopas, the brother of Saint Joseph the Betrothed, is a saint of the Orthodox Church. In the Gospel of Luke, he appears as one of two disciples on the Road to Emmaus. Though his companion is not named, his name is attributed to him by tradition.

The Orthodox Church honors him with a title that reflects his many contributions to the Church. His wife, Saint Mary, was a companion to her husband throughout His public ministry. She was also present at the Crucifixion and the burial of the Lord. Afterward, she was one of the Myrrh-bearers and heard the news of the Resurrection from an angel. In the Orthodox Church, Saint Mary is remembered on the Sunday of the Myrrh-bearers and on the third day of Pascha.

Scroll to Top