Types of Orthodox Church

types of orthodox church

In this article, we will briefly discuss the various types of orthodox church. We will discuss the Eastern Rite, Greek Rite, Byzantine Rite and the Pope. Each has its own distinctive characteristics and traditions. To better understand each type, let us look at some of the major differences between them.

Western Rite

The Western Rite orthodox church is a branch of the Eastern Orthodox Church. Its rite is similar to that of the Celtic rite. The Stowe Missal is regarded as the most important document for Celtic rite studies. This rite was first introduced in the 18th century. Since then, several other attempts at purification have been made in the West.

In the 1890s, Western Rite Orthodox parishes and dioceses began to form in Poland and Czechoslovakia. This work was encouraged by the Russian Orthodox Church. The Antiochian Patriarchate and Patriarch of Alexandria both recognized Western Rite work in Europe. During the early 20th century, Orthodox Church authorities tried to establish viable Western Rite work in Europe, but the Bolshevik Revolution put an end to these efforts.

In 1927, Bishop Winnaert entered into relations with the Saint Photius Confraternity, which supported contacts with Orthodox hierarchs. Then, in 1936, Metropolitan Sergius of Moscow issued a decree accepting the Western Rite. The decree also said that the texts of services should be free of Orthodox ideas. The Western Rite Orthodox Church is made up of parishes that have been reunited with the Orthodox Church.

Eastern Rite

The Eastern Rite of Orthodox Church is a branch of the Catholic Church with a long history in the Eastern world. Its origins can be traced back to various ancient national Christian bodies of the East, and it has been in communion with the Roman Apostolic See since its founding in the sixth century. It recognizes the pope as the supreme earthly head of the church and has seven sacraments. Its membership includes both Catholics and Eastern Christians.

Historically, the Eastern Church was made up of four patriarchates: Alexandria, Antioch, and Jerusalem. After the Council of Ephesus, Cyprus was made extra-patriarchal. However, the rise of Monophysitism and Nestorianism caused upheavals and schism in the Eastern Church. Eventually, the Alexandrian patriarchate was dissolved.

Currently, the Eastern Rite of Orthodox Church has five distinct rites. Bishops are traditionally chosen from the monastic clergy. Deacons and priests are usually celibate. Many parish priests, however, have been married.

Greek Rite

Greek Rite Orthodox Church is a Christian denomination. It is one of the oldest churches of the Orthodox faith in the world. Its origins date back to the pre-Christian times. This tradition is also called Slavic religion, or pre-Christian Orthodoxy. In the 1970s, this church was granted autocephalous status by the Russian Patriarchate.

Orthodox doctrine is based on Holy Scriptures and Holy Tradition. The decisions of the first seven Ecumenical Councils, the works of the Church Fathers, and canonical theologians are the basis for Orthodox doctrine. The first two Ecumenical Councils were held in Constantinople and Nicaea, respectively.

The Greek Rite Orthodox Church is divided into fifteen autonomous Local Orthodox Churches. These churches practice mutual Eucharistic communion. Each is a body of believers who share a common faith and history. In 1054 A.D., the Christian church split into Western and Eastern branches. Originally, both branches claimed to be Christian, and the Eastern church declared itself orthodox. But in the 17th century, the Patriarch Nikon revised the liturgical books, attempting to attribute Orthodox victories to Christianity.

Scroll to Top