What is the Hierarchy of the Orthodox Church?

What is the Hierarchy of the Orthodox Church?

what is the hierarchy of the orthodox church

In the Orthodox Church, there are different levels of hierarchy. The first level of hierarchy is the Patriarchate. The Patriarch is the head of a special ethnic community and is often equated to an archbishop. He oversees clergy and is an assistant to the Bishop.

Table of Contents


The Patriarch of the Orthodox Church is the head of the Orthodox Christian church in the world. He is the spiritual leader of more than 300 million Orthodox Christians and is the direct administrative superior of archdioceses and dioceses. He serves millions of Orthodox Christians throughout North and South America and Western Europe, as well as in the Greek diaspora and the other Balkan diasporas.

Patriarch Bartholomew I has made a number of important international visits since he became patriarch. He has visited many countries, including the Orthodox Archdiocese of North America and the Orthodox Church in Jerusalem. He has met with many political figures, including Yitzhak Rabin and Yasser Arafat, and has met with many leaders of the Western and Orthodox worlds. In addition to his visits, he has convened meetings with various religious and political figures, including the President of the USA.

As a leader of the Orthodox Church, he embodies a variety of traditions and perspectives. His recent visits have brought the church closer to Europe, particularly as the EU has expanded to include countries with large Orthodox communities. The Patriarch is often called the “beacon” of Orthodox Christians around the world.

The Patriarch is elected by the Orthodox Church. He has the authority to initiate and lead a synod. The Holy Relics are kept in a bronze reliquary at the Patriarchate. The Patriarchate is the seat of the Holy Synod of Bishops of the Church of Constantinople.

The Patriarch of the Orthodox Church has jurisdiction over Asia Minor. He is the second-highest in primacy after the Pope. He also has appellate jurisdiction over other patriarchs’ decisions in canon law. However, Pope Leo I has refused to recognize the Chalcedon Council as canon because it was held without legates. This has led to many issues. This has also led to conflict between the Orthodox Church and the Roman Church.

The Greek Church received autocephaly in 1850 from the ecumenical patriarch. During the nineteenth century, the Greek kingdom assimilated substantial Orthodox communities. In 1912, the Greeks conquered lands from Turkey, which were once part of the ecumenical patriarchate. The new lands were placed under the administration of the Greek church until 1928.


In Christianity, the term Patriarchate designates the office and jurisdiction of the ecclesiastical patriarch. In the Orthodox church, the patriarch’s jurisdiction includes the entirety of the Orthodox Church. There are three main types of Patriarchates: Hierarchical, Pan-Orthodox, and Coptic.

While all of the churches belong to the Ecumenical Patriarchate, there are some differences. For example, the Eastern Orthodox Church and the Latin Catholic Church are formally separate. The ROCOR has a hierarchy of ten bishops, but the Ecumenical Patriarchate has only seven.

The Ecumenical Patriarchate is the primus inter pares among the heads of the Eastern Orthodox Church. It is also the spiritual leader of many Orthodox Christians throughout the world. Its name is a reference to the Greek word ecumene, which referred to the civilized world. Despite its name, the Ecumenical Patriarchate is not a sovereign state.

The first patriarchate was recognized in the fourth century by Justinian, the emperor of the Roman Empire. Later, the council of Trullo confirmed the pentadarchy and created five patriarchates, including Rome, Constantinople, Alexandria, Antioch, and Jerusalem. Later, new patriarchates were established in Slavic centres such as Preslav, Pec, and Moscow. In fact, there are now nine patriarchates, including Moscow.

In the ancient times, patriarchates ruled the Orthodox Church, and the head of an independent church is called a patriarch. The church hierarchy was modeled after the Roman Empire’s administrative divisions. The civil provinces were headed by a metropolitan, while larger administrative units were presided over by an exarch. Patriarchs gradually replaced the metropolitans and exarchs.

The patriarchate of the Orthodox church is the highest authority in Christianity. Patriarchs are given this title in order to represent the church’s faith. The current patriarch, Bartholomew I, has visited many countries in the world, including Europe and Asia. He has also strengthened the long-established Patriarchal Centre in Pregny-Chambesy, Switzerland. In addition, he has become known as “the Green Patriarch.”

The declining proportion of Orthodox Christians in the global Christian population is connected to demographic trends in Europe, which have led to a reduced fertility rate and an ageing population. Europe’s population has been shrinking as a proportion of the total world population, and it is expected to continue to decline in absolute numbers in the coming decades.

Scroll to Top